Self-Grilling – dangerous but cathartic

Part 1

Who is Edward Bryans? In a nutshell: gregarious, truth seeking, prepared to fail, prepared to win, spiritually awake, eternally confused, frequently delighted, intermittently enraged, incessantly surprised, occasionally disappointed, forever hopeful and intent on being positive. He is also the person who cannot format Steemit posts properly!

The subject matter of this post, confused again! Confession … just a bit out of date.

Like most people I find it hard to write about myself without being cautious and somewhat defensive in approaching this strange subject! 

So, in the light of that I have taken a list of interviewers questions as dispassionately as I could and tried to be as open as I can:

 Q: Where were you born and brought up?

A: Hampshire, southern England. I was born a few months before JFK was assassinated. I am still twenty-three in my head, though the infrastructure rebels! My aunt told my mother to take me back when I was born. I was too ugly!

That is me under the hay stack, right hand side front row, aged fifteen. Some great hair going on here!

Q: How would you describe yourself such that a stranger would “get” you?

A: Bond, James Bond … no, I suppose I am outgoing and am prepared for any occasion. Having lived outside my country of birth as much as I have, one is naturally adaptable to and respectful of foreign cultures, customs and daily life.

My sister, Cosmo

I am probably quite old-fashioned in some ways: viz. being late means that you value your time over someone else’s, thumbs up to writing in fountain pen, interrupting is rude, praise for other people is becoming rare, complimenting a lady on something can be dangerous (it is always worth the risk), speaking on the phone loudly in public is noise pollution. Put the effing thing away.

OK, I just think mobile phones have taken more than they give

Q: Tell me your likes, dislikes, indulgences, avoidances, what makes you laugh/cry and what would you say is your driving passion in life?

A: Wow, OK, likes: people, sport, countryside, horse riding, conversation, photography, presenting and wilderness.

Dislikes: lies, loud people, bigots, body odour, cold and driving rain, wrongfully rich Presidents.

Indulgences: music, philosophising, ridiculing politicians, time alone, wine and whisky.

Sunset in South Beach, Miami.

Avoidances: crowds, noise, ignorant egos, anything with negative energy.

I laugh at a good joke, life (at times), a well-scripted show, myself (often), good comedians like Tommy Cooper, Robin Williams, Jimmy Carr.

Crying: I am hopeless at films, especially when horses are involved for some reason; national anthems at the Olympics can do it too as when Sir Steve Redgrave won his fifth gold in Sydney.

Driving passion: truth and integrity, fairly nebulous words but with so much might behind them. If I was to sum it up even further, my most important, not favourite, word is ‘respect’.

Bad comb day, leave me alone!

Q: Which sector(s) have you worked in and where?

A: I set out on my travels aged twenty-two and seem to have been at it, on and off, ever since! My first port of call was Baltimore, Maryland, USA; I was working for a big food company in marketing.

Whilst in the USA I suffered the ignominy of being pulled over (in my “flash” Chevy Citation) by a policeman on a horse. I assure you it was a racehorse and I was in rush hour traffic!

The Opera House as an exhaust pipe.

Owing to Green Card complications, I was then offered roles in Jamaica and Melbourne. Australia is somewhere I had always had a fascination for and so off I went, very wet behind the ears.

From Food I went into Textiles, then Financial Services (all in Australia). Back in London I started an Event Management company, Force 10 Events. This was my favourite period for just work. I loved it, probably because, dare I say it, I am quite good at it.

Gary Lineker in his England days

I shall digress a little; Force 10 was renowned for creating unique experiences with the aim of delivering dynamic change in companies and organisations. International Bankers bungee jumping over the Swiss Alps, Mars merchandisers making millions (of Indonesian Rupiah) and the promotion of the Post Office’s services which saw us release 10,000 helium filled balloons from Battersea Park in central London. Gary Lineker, the ex-England footballer, was our celebrity; I have scarcely worked with anyone quite so professional!

The rocks at La Perouse are one of my favourite Sydney getaway places.

Leave a Reply

